Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

(Well, it seems that this is one of the posts which wordpress wants to recommend to you … but, it’s far from one of the more interesting. Feel free to check out The 1940s in the 2040s instead or as well.)

I’ve got a feeling that some neurons have a way of tricking other neurons. Maybe they sing. I can’t articulate the songs … but, from time to time it’s like the Self-Righteous Neurons take the stage and get crowds of other neurons to sing along with them.

While they are singing … I might have a tendency to publicly display affection.  I might credulously or gullibly step up on a soap box and start rephrasing things I’ve heard. I might defend a position or a stance that I’m not prepared to take. I might chime in with a group of people who are saying things that I disagree with. I might adjudge that I knew the Saints were going to have a shitty season, when I didn’t. I might deem one person insignificant and another one necessary. I might decide what is good and what is bad. I might repeat “I might” like it’s a rhetorical device …

I feel like it might be time to make an effort to discern between song and substance … rhyme and reason … blame and aim … favor and behavior … popularity and reality …  relief and belief 

Quiet down, self-righteous neurons. When we are all trying to change the tune — that does not mean that something in us is dying. Leave other neurons alone and let them make new connections.

(Listen to Mucky & Gooby Audition for Immortal Nobody or  Listen to Gabby & Liwanda audition for Orphic-Holism   I apologize in advance. They will not get the parts, but I have an obligation to their agents.)

The Righteous Brothers:

You never close your eyes anymore when I kiss your lips.
And there’s no tenderness like before in your fingertips.
You’re trying hard not to show it, (baby).
But baby, baby I know it…

You’ve lost that lovin’ feeling,
Whoa, that lovin’ feeling,
You’ve lost that lovin’ feeling,
Now it’s gone…gone…gone…wooooooh.

Now there’s no welcome look in your eyes
when I reach for you.
And now your’re starting to critisize little things I do.
It makes me just feel like crying, (baby).
‘Cause baby, something in you is dying.

You lost that lovin’ feeling,
Whoa, that lovin’ feeling,
You’ve lost that lovin’ feeling,
Now it’s gone…gone…gone…woooooah

Baby, baby, I get down on my knees for you.

If you would only love me like you used to do, yeah.

We had a love…a love…a love you don’t find everyday.

So don’t…don’t…don’t…don’t let it slip away.

Baby (baby), baby (baby),
I beg of you please…please,
I need your love (I need your love),
I need your love (I need your love),
So bring it on back (So bring it on back),
Bring it on back (so bring it on back).

Bring back that lovin’ feeling,
Whoa, that lovin’ feeling
Bring back that lovin’ feeling,
‘Cause it’s gone…gone…gone,
and I can’t go on,
noooo…

Bring back that lovin’ feeling,
Whoa, that lovin’ feeling
Bring back that lovin’ feeling,
‘Cause it’s gone…gone…

 

